Vivek Kumar Sharma (IOFS) appointed as Director in Ministry of Mines

New Delhi: Vivek Kumar Sharma (IOFS) has been selected for appointment as Director in the Ministry of Mines. According to an order from the Department of Personnel & Training (DoPT) released on Thursday, Sharma has been selected for appointment under the Central Staffing Scheme (CCS) for a period of five years from the date of taking over charge of the post or until further orders, whichever is earlier. “He may kindly be relieved of his duties immediately with instructions to take up his new assignment in the Ministry of Mines,” the order said.

Sharma is an Indian Ordnance Factories Service (IOFS) officer of the 2002-batch. He was recommended for the Central deputation by the Department of Defence Production, Ministry of Defence.


1. Mandeep Singh Randhawa (IPS) appointed Director in Ministry of Ports, Shipping & Waterways

2. Anu Kukreja (ICoAS) appointed as Director (Finance) in NDMA

Ministry of Mines

The Ministry of Mines is the apex body for formulation and administration of the rules and regulations and laws relating to mines in India. The head of the ministry is Pralhad Joshi since June 2019. The ministry is responsible for the survey and exploration of all minerals (other than natural gas and petroleum) for mining and metallurgy of non-ferrous metals like aluminium, copper, zinc, lead, gold, nickel etc and for the administration of the mines and minerals.

(PSU Watch– India's Business News centre that places the spotlight on PSUs, Bureaucracy, Defence and Public Policy is now on Telegram & Twitter as well. Join PSU Watch Channel in your Telegram and follow us on Twitter to stay updated)