37 ITBP officials including 8 for Galwan skirmishes conferred with Police Medals

New Delhi: A total of 37 ITBP officials have been conferred with Police Medals on the occasion of 75th Independence Day. Out of the awarded 37 ITBP personnel, 23 have been awarded Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG), 03 with President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service and 11 have been awarded Police Medal for Meritorious service. 

20 ITBP personnel have been awarded PMG for bravery in skirmishes in Eastern Ladakh in May-June, 2020- 8 personnel for Galwan Nallah, 6 personnel each for Finger-4 and Hot Springs. 3 others have been awarded PMG for Anti-Naxal Operations in Chhattisgarh during the month of July 2018.

(A)    Police Medal for Gallantry:-

1    Sh. Kishor Singh Bisht, Commandant
2    Sh. Rinku Thapa, Second-in-Command 
3    Sh. Sarat Kumar Tripathi, DC (GD)
4    Sh. Akshay Ahuja, AC (GD)
5    Sh. Dharmendra Kumar Vishwakarma, AC (GD)
6    Sh. Arbind Kumar Mahato, AC (GD)
7    Sh. Pankaj Srivastava, AC (GD)
8     Sh. Ghanashyam Sahu, Inspector (GD)
9    Sh. Ravindra Maharana, Inspector (GD)
10    Sh. Nitin Kumar, Inspector (GD)
11    Sh. Patil Sachin Mohan, SI (GD)
12    Sh. Manish Kumar, HC (GD)
13    Sh. Shiv Shankar Tiwari, HC (GD)
14    Sh. Manish Kumar, CT (GD)
15    Sh. Karuppasamy M., CT (GD)
16    Sh. Stanzin Thinles, CT (GD)
17    Sh. Vinod Kumar Sharma, CT (GD)
18    Sh. Ashraf Ali, CT (GD)
19    Mohd. Shafkat Mir, CT (GD)
20    Sh. Rigzin Dawa, CT (GD)

In eastern Ladakh, the ITBP troops not only effectively used shields to protect themselves but also responded fiercely to PLA advancing troops and brought the situation under control during fierce face-offs and skirmishes. With the highest order of professional skills, ITBP troops fought shoulder to shoulder and also brought the injured troops to the rear.

Even when the ITBP troops fought the whole night, they received minimum casualties by giving befitting reply to the stone palters of the PLA. At places, they gave determined standoff about 17 to 20 hours throughout the intervening night in extremely challenging conditions.

Due to the high altitude training and survival experience of the force in the Himalayan deployments at the icy heights, the ITBP troops kept the PLA troops at bay and due to the all-out and befitting response of ITBP troops at several fronts, many areas were safeguarded.

The ITBP troops showed the highest level of devotion, courage, determination, utter disregard for personal safety even in injured conditions and exhibited great professional skills in the face of violent physical scuffles with the PLA.

Anti Naxal Operation (Chhattisgarh)

21    Sh. Ravinder Singh Punia, Assistant Commandant
22    Sh. Kuldeep Singh, Inspector
23    Sh. S. Muthu Raja, CT

(B) President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service:-

1.    Sh. Ashok Kumar, DIG
2.    Sh. Kapil Dev Dwivedi, DIG
3.    Sh. Mahendra Pal, Inspector (GD) 

(C) Police Medal for Meritorious Service:- 

1.    Sh. Raghubir Singh Vats, DIG (Telecom) 
2.    Sh. W. Inaobu Singh, Commandant
3.    Sh. Bhagwati Prasad Khansali, Second-in-Command 
4.    Sh. Kshitish Chandra Sarkar, DC (Telecom)
5.    Sh. Anand Prakash Dimri, DC (Engineer)
6.    Sh. Sher Singh Butola, AC (Telecom)
7.    Sh. Darshan Singh, AC (Armr)
8.    Smt. Namita Sharma, Section Officer
9.    Sh. Dev Dutt Sharma, Inspector (Telecom)
10. Sh. Santosh Kumar, Inspector (GD)

11. Sh. Alankar Rao, SI (GD)

Besides these gallantry medals, 300 ITBP personnel have already been awarded DG’s commendation roll and insignias for bravery by SS Deswal, DG ITBP in Eastern Ladakh deployments of the ITBP in September 2020. 

(PSU Watch– India's Business News centre that places the spotlight on PSUs, Bureaucracy, Defence and Public Policy is now on Google News. Click here to follow. Also, join PSU Watch Channel in your Telegram. You may also follow us on Twitter here and stay updated.)