PSU Watch logo

| NRL inks pipeline ‘Right to Use’ sharing agreement with IGGL |   | Kolkata Metro: India's first underground metro bids farewell to non-AC rakes |   | After oil, gas price may see surge, upset CNG, PNG rates |   | South Central Railway (SCR) operated 500 Kisan Rails, transported 1.6L tonnes of agri produce since launch |   | Service rendered by govt, not its agency, only exempt from GST |   | Cochin Airport ventures into hydropower production |  

AAI's Tirupati airport to get a VIP lounge

The Union Cabinet has approved the allotment of 1,800 sqm of AAI's land to APEWIDC for the construction of a VIP lounge at Tirupati airport
New Delhi: The Union Cabinet, chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has approved the allotment of 1,800 sqm of Airports Authority of India's (AAI) land to Andhra Pradesh Education & Welfare Infrastructure Development Corporation (APEWIDC) for the construction of a VIP lounge at Tirupati airport. The government has allotted the land to APEWIDC for a period of 15 years at a nominal rate of a license fee of Re 1/- per annum, a press release from the Ministry of Civil Aviation said. Tirupati is an abode of Lord Sri Venkateswara. The temple sits atop one of the seven peaks of Tirumala Hills, attracting scores of Hindu pilgrims. Sri Venkateswara National Park, home to the temple, also contains the Sri Venkateswara Zoological Park with lions and primates. Next to a waterfall and cave believed to be sacred, Sri Kapileswara Swamy Temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva. Every year a number of VIPs and VVIPs visit Tirupati. The construction of a VIP lounge at Tirupati airport will offer better amenities to the visitors. The lounge will be maintained by APEWIDC.

Airport Authority of India (AAI)

The Airports Authority of India (AAI), a Miniratna PSU under the Ministry of Civil Aviation, is responsible for creating, upgrading, maintaining and managing civil aviation infrastructure in India. AAI manages 125 airports, which include 18 international airports, seven customs airports, 78 domestic airports and 26 civil enclaves at defence airfields.