BVR Subrahmanyam (IAS) appointed as next CMD, ITPO

Ministry of Commerce and Industry's Secretary BVR Subrahmanyam will take charge as ITPO CMD on October 01, 2022, for two years
BVR Subrahmanyam (IAS) appointed as next CMD, ITPO (File Photo)
BVR Subrahmanyam (IAS) appointed as next CMD, ITPO (File Photo)

New Delhi: BVR Subrahmanyam (lAS) has been appointed as the new Chairman & Managing Director of the India Trade Promotion Organization (ITPO). The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet approved the appointment of Subrahmanyam on September 15. A 1987 batch Indian Administrative Services officer of Chhattisgarh cadre, Subrahmanyam is currently working as the Secretary, Department of Commerce, Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

"Shri B.V.R. Subrahmanyam, lAS (CG:87), Secretary, Department of Commerce, Ministry of Commerce and Industry as Chairman & Managing Director, India Trade Promotion Organization on contract basis for a period of two years in the rank and pay of Secretary to the Government of India upon his superannuation on 30.09.2022", mentioned the DoPT order number 36/1/2022-EO(SM-1) issued on September 15.

Senior IAS Subrahmanyam has been appointed to the post on a contractual basis for two years.

Interestingly, the current ITPO CMD LC Goyal had been given a fifth tenure extension on his post for a period of one year last year in September only. Goyal retired in 2015 only and since then he had been given new extensions every time his tenure ended.

BVR Subrahmanyam belongs to Andhra Pradesh. He also has a management degree from London Business School. Subrahmanyam worked in the PMO between 2004–2008 and March 2012–March 2015, serving under Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Narendra Modi. In between his PMO stints he worked with the World Bank.

In 2015 he was shifted to Chhattisgarh where he was a principal secretary followed by an Additional Chief Secretary (Home). He also held additional charges of jail and transport during his tenure there. Subrahmanyam was appointed by the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet as the Chief Secretary of Jammu and Kashmir in place of BB Vyas on 20 June 2018 following the collapse of the PDP-BJP coalition government.

(PSU Watch– India's Business News centre that places the spotlight on PSUs, Bureaucracy, Defence and Public Policy is now on Google News. Click here to follow. Also, join PSU Watch Channel in your Telegram. You may also follow us on Twitter here and stay updated.)

PSU Watch