Monday, September 26, 2022

Delhi Metro extends e-rickshaw service to these 12 stations

Must read

New Delhi: The Delhi Metro extended the facility of e-rickshaw services to 12 more Metro stations, taking the total tally of stations to 29 where a fleet of over 1,000 e-rickshaws now becomes operational. AK Garg, Director (Operations) at Delhi Metro, flagged off this fleet of around 250 e-rickshaws, called SmartE, from Patel Nagar Metro station on Wednesday.

These 250 e-rickshaws will be plying from 6 AM to 11 PM from 12 stations spread across the Delhi Metro network to boost last-mile connectivity for passengers of nearby localities. The stations are: Qutab Minar, Ghittorni, Arjangarh, Nawada, Shadipur, Patel Nagar, Nangloi, Nangloi Railway Station, Govindpuri, Harkesh Nagar Okhla, Moolchand and Botanical Garden.

E-rickshaw service to be extended to 12 more Delhi Metro stations

Till date, over 800 e-rickshaws have been plying from 17 Delhi Metro stations, facilitating over one lakh passengers to reach their destinations/stations daily. With this addition, the number of e-rickshaws has gone beyond 1,000, covering 29 metro stations. A total of 12 more stations are likely to be extended the same facility within the next two-three months, wherein around 500 more e-rickshaws will be put to service.

The SmartEs

These GPS-enabled SmartEs are specially designed and have a covered cabin and full front windscreen to provide last-mile connectivity within an area of 3-4 Km around metro stations. The fares have been kept very nominal at a base price of Rs 10 for the first 2 Km and Rs 5 for every subsequent Km. The commuters can also book vehicles through the SmartE app and pay digitally for their rides.
buy kamagra soft online no prescription

In recent years, DMRC has introduced many eco-friendly initiatives to ensure a robust last-mile connectivity system, which enables commuters to prefer non-polluting public transport modes over personal vehicles.

- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest News