PSU Watch logo

| Board approves merger of Lanco Teesta Hydro Power with NHPC |   | Power Ministry approves 23 new ISTS projects worth Rs 15,893 crore for RE projects |   | No plan to privatise existing coal mines, says Pralhad Joshi |   | RBI maintains India's FY22 GDP growth projection at 9.5% |   | Coal shortage cripples non-power sector as supplies to power sector prioritised |   | RBI to develop UPI for feature phones to boost digital payments |  

Indian Oil announces the appointment of 6 Independent Directors on its Board

The Board of Directors of India Oil have approved the appointments of six Independent Directors on its Board with effect from November 24, 2021
Indian Oil announces the appointment of 6 Independent Directors on its Board
Indian Oil announces the appointment of 6 Independent Directors on its Board

New Delhi: Dilip Gogoi Lalung, Dr Ashutosh Pant, Dr Dattatreya Rao Sirpurker, Prasenjit Biswas, Sudipta Kumar Ray and Krishnan Sadagopan have been appointed as Independent Directors on the Board of Indian Oil, a Maharatna PSU under the Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas (MoPNG). As per an order issued from the MoPNG dated November 8, 2021, the Board of Directors of Indian Oil have approved the appointment of the above-mentioned individuals as the Independent Directors on the Board company with effect from November 24, 2021. This information has been shared by the Oil Maharatna PSU in a regulatory filing to the stock exchanges on Wednesday.

A brief profile of the newly appointed Independent Directors as under:

Dilip Gogoi Lalung

Dilip Gogoi Lalung, aged 54 years, is a graduate in Arts. He has over 3 decades of experience in the field of social work, wherein he is actively involved with NGOs like Actionaid India, Save the Children, Tata Trust, etc. in programs like community development, education, skill development, health, etc.

Dr Ashutosh Pant

Dr Ashutosh Pant, aged 45 years, is a B Tech in computers from OUBC Canada, M Tech in Pant Information Technology from Allahabad and Ph D in Skill Development. He is currently the Chairman of the Fluorescent Group of Institutes in Jaipur. Dr Pant is an academician of international repute, having worked with Henan University of Science and Technology, China. He is an eminent motivational speaker and a leading counsellor for corporates. He is engaged in strategic policymaking and turnkey projects for educational institutions, business corporates and NGOs engaged in socio-cultural-economic empowerment across India. He is also an innovator in the field of IT intervention in education and corporate management.

Dr Dattatreya Rao Sirpurker

Dr Dattatreya Rao Sirpurker, aged 63 years, is a Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine & Surgery (BAMS) and MD in Ayurveda Shalya from Osmania University. He is also an M Sc in Psychology and is a doctorate in medicine from Pune University. Dr Sirpurker retired as a Professor of Shalya (Ayurveda) from SV Medical College (UHS), Tirupati. He has 25 years of teaching experience in the department of Shalya, and he is a profound practitioner of Ksharasutra. He has published many articles on Shalya in national and international journals of repute. He is recognised as all India expert in the Ksharasutra technique. He has also been awarded a degree in D.Sc by the Sri Lanka Open University. Dr Sirpurker has many research papers to his credit.

Prasenjit Biswas

Prasenjit Biswas, aged 64 years, an M Sc (Forestry) from FRI Deemed University, Dehradun, is an Indian Forest Services (IFoS) officer of the 1993-batch. He retired from the Indian Forest Service in 2018. He is currently the General Secretary & CEO of Indian Red Cross Society, Tripura State Branch and Member-Executive Committee of the National Bamboo Mission under the Ministry of Agriculture & Farmer Welfare, Gol, New Delhi. He has more than 36 years of experience in managing natural & wildlife resources including amelioration of people belonging to the marginalized section of society and their empowerment & skill, drafting policies of the state government; management of Wildlife resources; issues related to climate change, IT & GIS-based technologies; etc.

Biswas has handled various important assignments in the government of Tripura like Director of the Science, Technology & Environment Department, Director of Bio-Technology, Member Secretary of the Tripura State Pollution Control Board, Director in Tripura Horticulture Development Corporation, Chief Executive Officer of the Medicinal Plants Board of Tripura, Director (Administration & Finance) of the Japan Government-assisted Tripura JICA Project, etc.

Sudipta Kumar Ray

Sudipta Kumar Ray, aged 58 years, is a Law Graduate and Masters in Public Administration from Utkal University. He is currently a practising advocate in the area of corporate law, securities law and economic law. Ray has vast experience in the field of Public Distribution Systems and National Food Security Schemes. He has earlier worked as Chairman of Odisha State Civil Supplies Corporation Limited, Vice Chairman of National Reconstruction Corps Scheme, Member of Research Advisory Committee of Water Technology Council of Eastern Region, Member of Consumer Council of Mahanadi Coal Field Region, Member of National Telephone Advisory Council. He is currently the Member of the Governing Body of Laxmanrao Inamdar National Academy of Cooperative Research & Development under NCDC, New Delhi.

Krishnan Sadagopan

Krishnan Sadagopan, aged 54 years, is a B Tech from Madras Institute of Technology (MIT), Anna University and an M E from Sardar Patel College of Engineering, Mumbai. Pursuing his passion for IC Engines, he has worked in senior positions in various automobile companies viz. Bajaj Auto Limited, Mahindra & Mahindra Limited & Tata Motors Limited. He is currently working as the Senior Vice-President (Engine Development) in Ashok Leyland Limited, wherein, he undertakes strategic initiatives through business leader’s programs and councils, including technical associations. Krishnan specializes in project management, product development, risk mitigation, and mentoring. Krishnan is widely travelled and has presented papers in various professional forums.

As of now, there are a total of five Functional Directors, two Government Nominee Directors and one Independent Director on the Board of Indian Oil.

(PSU Watch- India's Business News centre that places the spotlight on PSUs, Bureaucracy, Defence and Public Policy is now on Google News. Click here to follow. Also, join PSU Watch Channel in your Telegram. You may also follow us on Twitter here and stay updated.)