Thursday, September 29, 2022

Last lap of 2019: Group of scholars, professors are canvassing for Modi govt 2.0

Must read

New Delhi: With the 2019 General Elections drawing closer, a group of like-minded professors and research scholars are canvassing for Prime Minister Narendra Modi under the banner of ‘Academics4Namo.’ The group of professors, drawn from a variety of educational institutes like, Delhi’s Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), Delhi University, Indian Institute of Public Administration (IIPA), among others, have launched a national outreach campaign through which they wish to bring Modi back to power.

The blueprint

The group’s plan is to reach out to the people of the country through digital platforms, series of meetings, seminars, conferences, public discourses and workshops throughout elections and inform people about the policy initiatives of the Modi government since 2014.

“In this election, Prime Minister Modi is the agenda. This is not to dispute that under Modi’s decisive leadership, India has made giant strides in all spheres, ranging from economy to foreign policy. Academics4NaMo firmly believes that to continue the momentum of growth and development of the nation, a Modi government 2.0 is a necessity,” said Swadesh Singh, Assistant Professor of Delhi University, who is one of the conveners of the project.

“The thought leaders from the world of academics and research – who have areas of influence – will pass on the message,” he said.

The group held a national workshop on March 14 in Delhi where 300 select delegates from across the country took part. During the workshop, tasks were assigned to members.

The list of names

Among the names that are part fo the initiative is JNU’s registrar Prof Pramod Kumar, who was appointed to the position of Registrar at JNU after the February 9 event where it was alleged that anti-India slogans were raised by students, Prof Sudheer Pratap Singh of Centre for Indian Languages and Dr Vandana Mishra of Centre for Comparative Politics & Political Theory; Delhi University professors like Prof Shri Prakash, Prof Tarun Kumar Garg, Prof Manan Dwivedi of Indian Institute of Public Administration (IIPA), Delhi and Dr Shantesh Singh of Kuala Lumpur-based United Nations University.

A number of professors and research scholars of Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT) Delhi, Lucknow University, Banaras Hindu University, Patna University, Central University of South Bihar, Indraprastha University, Indian Institute of Public Administration (IIPA) have already joined the campaign. Delhi-based think tanks like Centre for Policy Research and Governance and Institute for Policy Research are also part of the campaign.

- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest News