AAI declares 30 more airports as single-use plastic-free

Airport Authority of India (AAI) has so far declared 85 airports as ‘single-use plastic-free' adding a fresh list of 30 more airports with existing 55
AAI declares 30 more airports as single-use plastic-free

New Delhi: Airport Authority of India (AAI) has added 30 more airports in his list which have been declared as single-use plastic-free. A total of 85 Airports of AAI are now single use-plastic free.

As per Prime Minister Narendra Modi's call to citizens to avoid using plastic bags and rid themselves of the habit of using single-use plastic bags. AAI has taken several steps to reduce uses of plastic at its premises. These steps include banning of single-use plastic items like straws, plastic cutleries, plastic plates etc.

All airports single-use plastic-free on agenda

Acting on the directions issued by the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change to beat plastic pollution 55 AAI Airports namely Agartala, Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Aurangabad, Bagdogra, Belgaum, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Bhuj, Calicut, Chandigarh, Chennai, Coimbatore, Dehradun, Dibrugarh, Dimapur, Gaya, Gorakhpur, Goa, Guwahati, Imphal, Indore, Jabalpur, Jamnagar, Jaipur, Jammu, Jodhpur, Jorhat, Kangra, Khajuraho, Kolkata, Leh, Lucknow, Madurai, Mangalore, Patna, Port Blair, Prayagraj, Pune, Rajahmundry, Rajkot, Raipur, Ranchi, Srinagar, Silchar, Surat, Tuticorin, Tiruchirappalli, Tirupati, Trivandrum, Udaipur, Vadodara, Varanasi, Vijayawada and Visakhapatnam had been declared 'single-use plastic-free airport terminals' till August 30.

30 more airports declared as single-use plastic-free

As part of initiatives towards environment protection, a commitment was made by AAI for making remaining 30 operational AAI Airports as 'single-use plastic-free airport terminals' by October 2019. Accordingly, on the basis of third-party assessment carried out by the Quality Council of India (QCI), 30 more AAI airports namely Agatti, Adampur, Agra, Bhatinda, Bhavnagar, Bikaner, Diu, Gwalior, Hubli, Jaisalmer, Jalgaon, Jharsuguda, Kadapah, Kandla, Kanpur, Kishangarh, Kolhapur, Kullu, Lilabari, Ludhiana, Mysore, Pakyong, Pant Nagar, Pathankot, Porbandar, Puducherry, Salem, Shillong, Shimla and Tezpur have been declared as 'single-use plastic-free airport terminals' with effect from October 28.

AAI manages 125 airports, which include 18 international airports, seven customs airports, 78 domestic airports and 26 civil enclaves at defence airfields.

Other initiatives

AAI is also enhancing its waste management systems and is promoting the use of eco-friendly sustainable alternatives like use of biodegradable garbage bags in the garbage bins and installation of plastic bottle crushing machine at airports. AAI airports have also started various awareness campaigns for sensitizing all stakeholders especially passengers towards the cause and to drive engagement and cooperation from all of them.
buy ivermectin online https://www.parkviewortho.com/wp-content/languages/new/ivermectin.html no prescription

For making environmental conservation an ingrained organisational mission, the Airports Authority of India has formulated an Environment Policy which envisages its commitment for reduction of Green House Gases (GHG) and sustainable development by implementing cost-effective carbon.

PSU Watch