Akash Sharma set to be next Director (Finance) of BVFCL

Akash Sharma, who is currently working with Bajaj Hindusthan Sugar Limited, is set to be next Director (Finance) of BVFCL
Akash Sharma set to be next Director (Finance) of BVFCL

New Delhi: Akash Sharma is set to be new Director (Finance) of Brahmaputra Valley Fertilizer Corporation Limited (BVFCL), a PSU under the Department of Fertilizer. Sharma's name has been recommended by a Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB) panel on Tuesday. He is currently serving as Vice President (Finance) of Bajaj Hindusthan Sugar Limited, a member company of 'Bajaj Group' and one of the largest sugar producers in India.

Sharma has been selected for the post of Director (Finance) of BVFCL from a list of two candidates, who were interviewed by the selection panel. Another candidate who was on the list was from National Aluminium Company Limited (NALCO). With his new appointment, Sharma will replace S Maheshwari, who is currently serving as Director (Finance) of BVFCL.

Education & background

Sharma is a Charted Accountant from the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India. He holds an LLB degree from Meerut University, Meerut. He has more than 22 years of experience in finance, accounts, audit and credit control, company matters and merger and acquisition. Sharma, who joined Bajaj Hindustan Limited in March 2006, has had a very long association with the company spanning over 22 years.

Brahmaputra Valley Fertilizer Corporation Limited (BVFCL)

The Namrup Fertilizer Complex was renamed as Brahmaputra Valley Fertilizer Corporation Limited (BVFCL) after bi-furcation from Hindustan Fertilizer Corporation Limited (HFCL) from April 1, 2002. It is located on the bank of Dilli river in the south-western border of Dibrugarh district in Assam. It is the first fertilizer factory in India which uses natural gas as basic raw material for producing nitrogenous fertilizer.

VFCL is under the administrative control of the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers, Department of Fertilizers, with 100 percent shareholding of the government of India.

PSU Watch