Indian Grapplers Conquer Moscow World Championship, Secure 105 Medals to Claim Champion Title

Indian Grapplers Conquer Moscow World Championship, Secure 105 Medals to Claim Champion Title

New Delhi (India), November 22: In a dazzling demonstration of skill and determination, the Indian Grappling team emerged as champions at the Moscow Grappling World Championship held in Russia from November 17 to 19. The event, featuring participants from 19 countries worldwide, witnessed India securing the prestigious title by clinching a total of 105 medals.

The Indian grapplers showcased an extraordinary performance, triumphing over formidable opponents and earning 23 gold medals, 30 silver medals, and 52 bronze medals. This remarkable achievement propelled India to the top position, surpassing Russia and claiming the number-one title in the championship.

Under the leadership of Dinesh Kapoor, Chairman of the National Grappling Committee, and with support from Birju Sharma, Vinod Sharma, Vijay Sangwan, and Subhash Dawar, Chairman of the Company Alliance of Surat, the Indian Grappling team displayed unparalleled skill and spirit throughout the competition.

The championship featured the participation of 86 Indian players, including 43 boys and 43 girls, who exhibited exemplary zeal and enthusiasm. Overcoming various challenges, the Indian team emerged victorious, showcasing dominance in the sport and securing the Champion’s Trophy.

In a closely contested competition, Dagestan secured the second position, while Russia claimed the third spot. The success of the Indian team not only highlights the individual prowess of the grapplers but also underscores the collective effort and guidance provided by the coaching and leadership team.

Before their departure for Moscow, the Indian grapplers received heartfelt wishes from notable personalities, including actor and MP Ravi Kishan, actors Manish Vidhu, Poonam Dhillon, and Padmini Kolhapure, Gujarat Home and Sports Minister Harsh Sanghvi, Gujarati film star Hiten Kumar, Padma Shri Anand Kumar, Arjun award Harmeet Desai, ISRO scientist Suresh Kumar, Surat Traffic DCP Amita Vanani, South India film star Robo Ganeshahn, among many others.

This victory is a source of immense pride for the country, showcasing India's prowess in grappling on the global stage and serving as a triumphant moment following the disappointment in the Cricket World Cup final.

(Disclaimer: The above press release comes to you under an arrangement with PNN and PTI takes no editorial responsibility for the same.). PTI PWR PWR

Disclaimer: This story is auto-generated feed.

Related Stories

No stories found.
PSU Watch