Survey: List of India’s 50 Most Popular Superintendent of police is out

New Delhi: In any country peace and progress can only flourish if local law order is just and in place. Under the 7th Schedule of the Constitution, ‘Police’ is under the State List, and the popularity, efficiency and image of a state govt machinery solely depend on how the police of that state works. Whether they are prompt, easily available to the common man, efficiently handle their grievances and deliver them justice are the factors that not only contribute to the popularity of the local government, also add decisively to the livability factor of that area. The popular belief that any force is as good as its leader, is somewhat true too. So in order to check the popularity and efficiency of local police in India, we decided to conduct a survey on the district police head which is the Superintendent of police in most cases. The same is SSP, DCP or Police Commissioner depending upon the local administration system and the size of the district.

'one of the most challenging surveys'

Speaking about the approach of the survey US Sonthalia, Editor-in-chief of Fame India magazine said, "frankly speaking, it was a very challenging task to select just 50 popular District police chiefs out of over 700 police captains across the country. Based on various sources and aided by our ground survey, the Fame India Magazine, Asia Post & PSU Watch survey shortlisted 200 District police chiefs. Factors like controlling crime in their districts to improving law and order, efficient working style, being people-friendly, farsighted, and quick decision making were some of the parameters which were taken into account while preparing this elite list.  These 200 District police chiefs were then put into 50 illustrious categories… Of these, names of the 50 most deserving District police chiefs are being published".

'More powers for better policing'

If you closely look at the list you will find more than 10% of names from the police commissionerate system, while in India the total percentage of the overall commissionerate system is far less. What does it show? "Prima facie it shows that the commissionerate system is more efficient than the redundant colonial system where the overall in-charge of a district or region is the district collector and the Superintendent of police reports to him," says Vivek Shukla, Editor (Defence & Public Policy) of PSU Watch. "The rankings in the list demonstrate how efficient and people-friendly one police officer is, and how well he has exercised his authority and rights in serving people at large" he added.

Another important point from the survey is that Uttar Pradesh has the most number of entries on the list. There of course are far more number than these 50 popular police officers. But then, this is what a survey is meant for- to get the best of the lot. So here is the list. Do read and react to it on our social media links or mail us at



List of India's 50 Most Popular Superintendent of police 2021

  • Dr Preetinder Singh, (former SSP – Kanpur) Uttar Pradesh
  • Ajay Yadav, SSP – Raipur, Chhattisgarh
  • Kartikeya, Police Commissioner – Nizamabad, Telangana
  • Vikramjit Singh Duggal, SSP – Patiala, Punjab
  • Joginder Kumar, SSP  Uttar Pradesh
  • Senthil Avoodai, SSP – Haridwar, Uttarakhand
  • Amanjeet Kaur, SP – Nalbari, Assam
  • Deepak Kumar Jha, SP – Jagdalpur, Chhattisgarh
  • Anto Alphonse, DCP – North Delhi, Delhi
  • Pankaj Kumar Singh, SSP – South Goa, Goa
  • Preeti Chandra, SP – Bikaner, Rajasthan
  • Vidhi Choudhary, DCP – Surat, Gujarat
  • Bablu Kumar, SSP, Uttar Pradesh
  • Jayant Kant, SSP – Muzaffarpur, Bihar
  • Amit Sanghi, SP Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh
  • Ajay Kumar Sahni, SSP – Meerut, Uttar Pradesh
  • Rahul Sharma, SP – Rohtak, Haryana
  • Virendra Kumar Singh, SP – Singrauli, Madhya Pradesh
  • Dr Abhinav Deshmukh, SP – Kolhapur, Maharashtra
  • Gaurav Kumar Tiwari, SP – Ratlam, Madhya Pradesh
  • Aravindhan P, SP – Trivuvallur, Tamil Nadu
  • Kuwar Vishal Singh, SP – Puri, Orissa
  • Alka Meena, SSP – SBS Nagar, Punjab
  • Kalanithi Naithani, SSP – Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh (has been transferred)
  • Mohit Chawla, SP – Shimla, Himachal Pradesh
  • Dhurat Sayli, SP – Nawada, Bihar
  • Prabhakar Chaudhary, SSP – Moradabad, Uttar Pradesh
  • Vinita Sahu, DCP – Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra
  • Shweta Shrimali, SP – Jamnagar, Gujarat
  • Sagar Singh Kalsi, SP – ACB, Jammu Kashmir
  • Chandan Jha, SP – Bokaro, Jharkhand
  • Anand Mishra, SP – Dhubri, Assam
  • Mokshada Patil, SP – Aurangabad (Rural), Maharashtra
  • Parminder Singh, DCP – Outer Delhi, Delhi
  • Kumar Ashish, SP – Kishanganj, Bihar
  • Siddharth Kaushal, SP – Prakasam, Andhra Pradesh
  • Shalini Agnihotri, SP – Mandi, Himachal Pradesh
  • Preeti Priyadarshini, SSP – Nainital, Uttarakhand
  • Vivek Singh, SP – Khandwa, Madhya Pradesh
  • Ganga Ram Punia, SP – Karnal, Haryana
  • Tejaswini Gautam, SP – Alwar, Rajasthan
  • Rahul Tripathi, SP – Gir Somnath, Gujarat
  • Tripti Bhatt, SSP – Tehri Garhwal, Uttarakhand
  • Chandan Kohli, SSP – Jammu, Jammu Kashmir
  • Priyanka Meena, SP – Lohardaga, Jharkhand
  • Dr Mohit Kumar Garg, SP – Ratnagiri, Maharashtra
  • Kartikeya Sharma, SP – Sheikhpura, Bihar
  • Sachin Sharma, SP – Chhatarpur, Madhya Pradesh
  • Arpit Jain, DCP – Faridabad, Haryana
  • Lipi Singh, SP – Saharsa, Bihar


Kuldiep Singh (IPS) is new Director CRPF & MA Ganapathy (IPS) is new DG NSG

Sanjeev Kumar (IAS) appointed chairman AAI, major reshuffle in top bureaucracy

(PSU Watch– India's Business News centre that places the spotlight on PSUs, Bureaucracy, Defence and Public Policy is now on Telegram & Twitter as well. Join PSU Watch Channel in your Telegram and follow us on Twitter to stay updated)