TSECL bags 1st position in 8th Innovation with Impact Awards for Discoms 2020

New Delhi: The Indian Chamber of Commerce (ICC) has organised the 14th edition of its flagship initiative, the 'India Energy Summit' on February 24 and 25. The India Energy Summit (IES) was initiated by the ICC thirteen years ago and has succeeded in achieving the recognition of being one of India’s most comprehensive and well-represented energy events. Energy entities and states like- Gujarat, Maharashtra, West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and others have been actively participating and supporting this initiative since its inception. The objective of this summit was to provide a platform to the energy industry, to explore different opportunities that the energy transition and transformation has unleashed for the sector.

This year Tripura State Electricity Corporation Limited (TSECL) has also participated in the event and was conferred the First Position in 8th Innovation with Impact Awards for Discoms 2020 under the category “Overall Innovation with Impact Award (North Eastern States).” TSECL's Managing Director (MD) Dr MS Kele has received the award on February 25 on behalf of TSECL.

ALSO READ: Tripura State Electricity Corp gets awarded for response to COVID-19

Dr Kele has told the correspondent that the award was conferred to TSECL for its improvements and reforms done in the power sector of Tripura. TSECL has given a special emphasis on reform in its consumer service sector to make it more consumer-friendly. A few initiatives that TSECL has taken in the recent past in this direction are – Opening of Smart Customer Care Centre System along with Fault Rectification Team (FRT), Smart & Prepaid Metering Systems, Point-of-Sale (POS) Payment Solution, One Time Waiver of Surcharge, TSECL At Your Doorstep to ensure 24X7 reliable and quality power supply. As a part of the ‘Go Green’ initiative; TSECL has started providing net metering facility to its consumers as per TERC Regulation to promote environment-friendly green non-conventional energy specifically, solar energy.

The Jury Panel for the selection of awardees was consisting of many eminent personalities from the power sector under the chairmanship of Anil Razdan, Former Secretary of the Ministry of Power.

(PSU Watch– India's Business News centre that places the spotlight on PSUs, Bureaucracy, Defence and Public Policy is now on Telegram. Join PSU Watch Channel in your Telegram and stay updated)