PSU Watch logo

| BHEL commissions third renovated hydro unit at the 3x60 MW Baira Siul hydropower project |   | Cabinet approves 3% Dearness Allowance (DA) hike for Central government employees |   | HPCL achieves maiden 100 TMT of gas sourcing & marketing |   | Cabinet clears PM Gati Shakti plan, approves 3-tiered system for monitoring |   | PMC contract: NBCC secures work orders of over Rs 297 crore |   | Indian Navy has spent more than 2/3rd of the modernisation budget in last 5 years |  

Vinod Kumar Tiwari joins Coal India board as Director

VK Tiwari, who is serving as Additional Secretary in coal ministry, has been appointed as government nominee Director on Coal India board
New Delhi: Vinod Kumar Tiwari, Additional Secretary in the Ministry of Coal, has been appointed as government nominee Director on Coal India Limited's (CIL) board. Tiwari is a 1986-batch IFoS officer of Himachal Pradesh cadre and has been appointed as Director on Coal India board with effect from December 2, until further orders, the public sector undertaking (PSU) said in a regulatory filing. Currently, there are five Executive Directors, two Independent Directors and two government nominee Directors, including Tiwari, on the board of Coal India Limited. Apart from Tiwari, the other government nominee director on Coal India board is Reena Sinha Puri, an officer of Indian Revenue Service. Puri has held various positions in Income Tax Department and has worked in Mumbai, Kolkata, Delhi, Nagpur and Muzaffarnagar. She has also worked on secondment with Department of Taxes, Government of Botswana. She obtained her Bachelor's and Master's degree in Political Science from Punjab University, Chandigarh. She also holds a Bachelor's degree in law from Delhi University and a Master’s degree in Public Policy from LKY School of Public Policy, NUS, Singapore. Puri currently also occupies the position of Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Mines.

Coal India Limited

Coal India Limited (CIL) is a Maharatana PSU under the Ministry of Coal and has its headquarters in Kolkata, West Bengal. It is the largest coal-producing company in the world. The company contributes to around 82 percent of the coal production in India. It has seven subsidiary companies.