GAIL gets 1st prize for Energy conservation

Pata Petrochemical Complex of GAIL (India) Limited awarded first prize for Energy conservation in Petrochemical Sector
GAIL gets 1st prize for Energy conservation

New Delhi: "National Energy Conservation Awards (NECA) 2019" function was held in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi on December 14, on the eve of National Energy Conservation Day. Pata Petrochemical Complex of GAIL (India) Limited was awarded the first prize for Energy conservation in Petrochemical Sector for its outstanding performance in energy conservation and energy efficiency during the award function.

The prestigious award was received by GAIL (India) Limited's Director (Business Development) Manoj Jain from Union Minister of State (I/C) for Power and New & Renewable Energy RK Singh and Minister of State for Skill Development & Entrepreneurship. Other dignitaries present during the function are Sanjiv Nandan Sahai, IAS, Secretary to the government, Ministry of Power, Anand Kumar, Secretary, MNRE Abhay Bakre, Director General, Bureau of Energy Efficiency and Raj Pal, Economic Advisor, Ministry of Power. MV Ravi Someswarudu, Executive Director, Pata Petrochemical Complex and Anil Verma, General Manager (Technical Services) from Pata were also present in the award function.

This award also showcases the commitment of Pata Petrochemical complex and also of GAIL towards energy conservation and in reduction of carbon footprint in its operations. The unit has achieved electrical energy savings of 6.9 Million Units and thermal energy savings of 34,854 Million Kilo calories during the assessment year. The petrochemical sector was included in PAT (Perform, Achieve and Trade) cycle-IV during 2018.

PAT is a flagship programme of BEE under National Mission for Enhanced Energy Efficiency (NMEEE). PAT is a regulatory instrument to reduce specific energy consumption in energy-intensive industries, with a market-based approach to enhance the cost-effectiveness through certification of excess energy saving that can be traded. This coveted award is instituted by the Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE), Ministry of Power. BEE is entrusted through Energy Conservation act 2001 to improve energy efficiency and reduce the energy consumption across various Designated Consumers (DC).

Disclaimer: This story is a press release and is being published without any editing by PSU Watch desk. Our editorial team has only changed the headline.

PSU Watch