Power Cup 2021: Power Ministry beats Power PSUs by 37 runs

A friendly cricket match ‘Power Cup 2021’ has been played between teams of Ministry of Power and Power PSU teams on January 30 at New Delhi
Power Cup 2021: Power Ministry beats Power PSUs by 37 runs

New Delhi: 'Power Cup 2021', a friendly cricket match has been played between teams of Ministry of Power, and Power PSU teams on January 30 at New Delhi. Union Power Minister RK Singh was the Chief Guest on the occasion. Ministry of Power's Secretary Sanjiv Nandan Sahai (IAS) led the Ministry of Power's team while Power Finance Corporation (PFC) CMD RS Dhillon led the Power PSUs team. NHPC Limited, under the leadership of NHPC CMD AK Singh, was the nodal organisation for organising this event.

Speaking on the occasion, Singh congratulated both the teams for putting up an excellent match. He further said that such events are an ideal way of building team spirit and camaraderie amongst Ministry of Power and Central Power Sector PSUs.

The Ministry of Power team also included Ministry of Power's Additional Secretary & Financial Advisor Ashish Upadhyaya, Additional Secretary SKG Rahate, Additional Secretary Vivek Kumar Dewangan, Senior Advisor Raj Pal, Joint Secretary Tanmay Kumar, Joint Secretary Mritunjay Kumar Narayan, Joint Secretary Ghanshyam Prasad, PS to MoS Manoj Kumar Singh, Directors and other senior officers. The Power PSUs team also included NHPC CMD AK Singh, NTPC CMD Gurdeep Singh, Power Grid CMD K Sreekant, POSOCO KVS Baba, DVC Chairman RN Singh, BEE Director General Abhay Bakre, EESL's Executive Vice Chairperson Saurabh Kumar and their Directors and other senior officers from NHPC, NTPC, PFC, REC, EESL and POSOCO.

The Ministry of Power team won the match by 37 runs after scoring 159 runs in 20 overs, while Power PSUs team finished with score of 122 runs. Sahai was given a special award for 'Best Sportsman Spirit', Ministry of Power Additional Secretary Vivek Kumar Dewangan was awarded 'Best Bowler,' Tanmay Kumar was awarded 'Elegant batsman of the Match', Manoj Kumar Singh was awarded "Best Economical Bowler', Ministry of Power's Assistant Director (OL) Anil Gaba put an excellent all-round performance and won the awards for Man of the Match, Best Catch, Best Fielder and Power player of the match and NHPC's Manager (PR) Ramesh Kumar was awarded as Best Batsman.

(PSU Watch– India's Business News centre that places the spotlight on PSUs, Bureaucracy, Defence and Public Policy is now on Telegram. Join PSU Watch Channel in your Telegram and stay updated)

PSU Watch