PSU Watch logo

| BEML posts highest-ever turnover of Rs 3,557 crore during FY 2020-21 |   | NCL extends Rs 10 crore to MP govt for setting up 5 oxygen plants |   | ‘With commercial auction tranche 2, govt moving towards rolling auction of coal mines’ |   | Only one-eighth of India’s target to deploy 2 mn solar pumps achieved so far: IEEFA |  

Retd IAS Anup Chandra Pandey is new Election Commissioner

The President of India has appointed Anup Chandra Pandey, a retired IAS officer of UP cadre, as new Election Commissioner

Retd IAS Anup Chandra Pandey is new Election Commissioner
Retd IAS Anup Chandra Pandey is new Election Commissioner

New Delhi: Anup Chandra Pandey (IAS, Retd.) has been appointed as the new Election Commissioner in the Election Commission of India. According to a gazette notification issued on June 8, Pandey has been appointed by President Ram Nath Kovind as the Election Commissioner with effect from the date he assumes office. Pandey (Retd.) is a 1984-batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer belonging to the Uttar Pradesh cadre and retired as the Chief Secretary of Uttar Pradesh in August 2019.

Pandey has been appointed to the position left vacant by former Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora’s retirement on April 12. This restores the three-member commission to its full strength, which will now oversee the next set of crucial assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand next year.


1. Former Power Secretary Sanjiv Nandan Sahai picked for PNGRB Chairman post: Sources

2. Alok Tandon (IAS) gets additional charge as Secretary of the Ministry of Coal

Pandey has served in various key positions for both the government of Uttar Pradesh and the Central Government, including as the Chief Secretary of Uttar Pradesh, Additional Chief Secretary (Infrastructure and Industrial Development and NRI), Chairperson of Udyog Bandhu and Infrastructure and Industrial Development Commissioner of Uttar Pradesh, Divisional Commissioner of Lucknow division, Additional Chief Secretary (Finance and Institutional Finance) and Finance Commissioner, Chairperson of Pradeshiya Infrastructure and Investment Corporation of Uttar Pradesh, Chairperson of Greater NOIDA, Principal Secretary (Medical Education), Principal Secretary (Planning) and Director General of Uttar Pradesh State Planning Institute and as the district magistrate and collector of two districts of a unified Uttar Pradesh in the Uttar Pradesh government; and as an Additional Secretary in the Department of Ex-servicemen Welfare of the Ministry of Defence, Additional Director General in the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) and as a Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Labour and Employment in the Central Government.

(PSU Watch- India's Business News centre that places the spotlight on PSUs, Bureaucracy, Defence and Public Policy is now on Google News. Click here to follow. Also, join PSU Watch Channel in your Telegram. You may also follow us on Twitter here and stay updated.)