Sunday, May 22, 2022

S Iqbal Singh Lalpura assumes charge as Chairperson of National Commission for Minorities

Must read

New Delhi: S Iqbal Singh Lalpura assumed charge as the Chairperson of the National Commission for Minorities (NCM) in New Delhi on Wednesday after being re-nominated as Chairperson vide Ministry of Minority Affairs' notification dated April 12, 2022. During his previous term as Chairperson of NCM, he worked tirelessly for the welfare of all the minorities with a focused approach to ensure that the grievances of the minorities are addressed and they avail the benefits of the Welfare schemes run by the Government.

Before being appointed as the Chairman of the National Minorities Commission, he was a national spokesperson for Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) and a popular face on television debates. Mr Lalpura has written nearly 14 books on Sikh philosophy and history, such as ‘Japji Sahib ek vichaar,’ Gurbaani ek vichaar’, and ‘Raj Karega Khalsa.’

The Union Government set up the National Commission for Minorities (NCM) under the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992. Initially five religious communities, viz., Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists and Zoroastrians (Parsis) were notified as minority communities by the Union Government. Further vide notification dated January 27, 2014, Jains were also notified as another minority community.

(PSU Watch– India's Business News centre that places the spotlight on PSUs, Bureaucracy, Defence and Public Policy is now on Google News. Click here to follow. Also, join PSU Watch Channel in your Telegram. You may also follow us on Twitter here and stay updated.)

- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest News